A Corpse Fortress Show from the Perspective of an Underage Heathen

When Tim first asked me to do this review I was also honored, but I also thought he was crazy. I mean, I don’t know how to write a review – I’m just some “underage heathen.”
You see, whenever I hear anyone critique some band they’ll describe them as being some amalgamation of other bands: “This band I heard was like that one band  mixed with that other band with a little of such and such.”
Well, to all those who are expecting that, I can’t do that.
I’m not as experienced as others. I haven’t been listening to this shit for years. That being said, I love this shit. I love the music, I love the atmosphere, and I love the dirty little hole in the wall where being called a punk is a complement, and instead of being ridiculed for your ripped and patched up pants you get props.
I go to shows as often as possible because that’s a place where I can be me. When the rest of the world rejects me, my fellow punks won’t.
Since I’ve been talking about myself for way too long let me give this whole reviewing thing a shot.
The first band, At the Graves, was pretty cool. They were all eerie and melodic. They were kind of slow at times, but good.
When I closed my eyes during their set I totally pictured like graveyards and dead trees and shit like that. They were kind of trippy, with an old-school horror feel to them. The kind of music you want to smoke weed to. There was a heavy feeling in the air, like their music was making gravity stronger.
Coffinworm was, in my opinion, the best band of the night. If I had to describe them in one word it would be epic. There was palpable energy in the air, like someone was beating the shit out of a Pikachu. They were like the aftermath of the meteor that killed the dinosaurs with giant creatures dying in tar, volcanoes exploding and ash clouds in the sky raining fire and brimstone. They were like wild animals on speed with instruments except that would sound terrible and they were awesome. They were the only band people moshed to, but I was surprised people didn’t mosh more. They were loud as shit, everybody was actually was –I think Corpse Fortress got some new amps or something – but Coffinworm in particular had me walking away deaf.
Last, but not least, Ilsa: The only band of the night that I’ve seen before. They sounded like hordes of undead in a post-apocalyptic world scavenging the streets looking for survivors to consume. Ilsa was another band I expected people to mosh to, but no avail. The last time I saw them was at the Corpse Fortress and people moshed like hell. They’re a good band that deserved more in my opinion (Coffinworm too), but hey, maybe that’s what you get when you ban a section of the scene from a venue. But Ilsa definitely ended the night on a good note.
Overall: Good show.

Leave a Reply

